Ready to Date?

“Are you sure you’re ready to date?”

Um, no. Not at all. I just signed up for the dick pics…. Seriously?! How is this a question? How am I supposed to answer this?!

Who is ever ready to date? Dating is one of the worst ways I can think to spend my time. No one LIKES dating. If dating was the thing that people liked, then there would be no long term relationships. Marriage wouldn’t exist, and no one would be trying to have a relationship that leads to marriage.

With that said, am I looking to jump into a new and long lasting relationship? No. And definitely not with the guy who just asked if I was sure I wanted to date.

“Are you sure you’re ready to date?” Um, I was until you said that. “Are you sure you’re ready to date?” Not you… “Are you sure you’re ready to date?” Nope, just getting kicks by seeing who’s interested. “Are you sure you’re ready to date?” If you define dating as meeting and enjoying the company of other people, usually the other sex (depending on your preference), then…. NO. Oops. Signed up totally by accident. My bad.

Dear men of the Internet dating sites. Stop being dumb! Stop saying dumb shit! Don’t be lame! You know which guy I like? I like the guy who banters a bit like we’re old friends and have known each other a long time. No real serious topics in a dumb chat box please, those are better left for later in person conversations.

I was in a relationship, and now I am not. I think I might be ready to date. I would like to meet new people. I think I might be ready to date. I think it would be fun to find someone who has similar interests as me, or is at least willing to listen to me talk about sconces for 40 minutes, and also wants to go out and do fun things. I think I might be ready to date. I am signed up on a dating website. ::CUE NEON SIGN:: I think I might be ready to date.

Dating is difficult. It’s messy. It’s often one-sided. It’s confusing. And it can be magical.

I think these guys who ask “are you sure you’re ready to date?” are just setting the stage. So, if someone does go out with, let’s say his name is Paul, and there is no real connection for the other person, which they undoubtedly will politely explain to Paul, then Paul replies with “well you’re obviously not really ready to date.” It come across as aggressive and defensive and it’s a huge red flag. Not taking that bait. NEXT!!

3 thoughts on “Ready to Date?

  1. Well stated. But, I disagree with you to some extent. And NO, I’m not making excuses for these morons that ask stupid questions like that… part of the dating process is discovering what you’re really ready for.
    “No one LIKES dating. If dating was the thing that people liked, then there would be no long term relationships.”
    And there is the problem. In today’s age of ‘constant window shopping’ and what technology has done to dating, more and more people actually DO enjoy dating. It has become a lifestyle instead of a means to an end. Why settle down when there’s always the chance of something better around the corner? It’s frustrating… But, not everyone feels that way. There are still relationship-oriented people out here mixed in with the droves of those looking for nothing more than a hook-up.
    It just takes more time now to find those types. It is yet another added criteria to sort through on your list of ‘gotta-haves’ in someone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

