Dating the Single Mom

I think most people understand that dating post divorce and/or children is a little, ok a lot, different than before.

Post Date:

Singles – “Can I see you again tomorrow?”

Single Parents – “When do I get to see you again? What’s your parenting schedule like? Do you have any other available days this month?!”

Netflix and Chill?

S – “What’s going on? You want to come over and watch a movie?”

SP – “I have no kids next weekend….. come over, plan on staying?”

Spontaneity:

S- “Let’s go out tomorrow night, I just heard about this event happening”

SP – “I want to go to this event, but it’s my night with the kids. I have to check if I can switch nights with my ex, or find a sitter, but I don’t know that I want to go enough to pay for a sitter.”

Dating the Dud:

S – “I didn’t really see it going anywhere, but he was nice so I figured I could give it another chance. He’s Mr. Right Now.”

SP – “I am not paying $10 – $20 an hour to go out on a mediocre date!”

Defining the Relationship:

S – “I mean, we’re just casually dating. We don’t need a definition. It’s only been 3 months!”

SP – “Do you know what you want out of this, I know its only the third date, but…”

How Was Your Day?

S – “Ugh, I had the worst day at work. My boss yelled at me for something that wasn’t my fault, and a coworker presented my idea as her own!”

SP – “My kid had a tantrum, in the middle of the store, and all I could do was stare at her and wait for her to stop. Then she pooped her pants while we were at the park. Next, she drank too much milk too quickly and got car sick on the way home. Please, I just need a few minutes of silence for my sanity.”

Cue to Crisis:

S – “OMG I cut myself while trying to cut onions! What do I do?! Is this a lot of blood? Am I dying!?”

SP – “Fuck. Cut myself. Fuck, it looks deep. Damn kids used all the band-aids – ooh! Here’s a princess band-aid. Good enough.”

Sex:

S – “We’ve had sex on every surface in that apartment. So hot. We make love for hours!”

SP – “Hey, I have 5 minutes. Quickie?”

Texting:

S – “He texted me with ‘hey!’ this morning, I’ll text him back this afternoon”

SP – “No one believes that I don’t have my phone on and on me at all times. I’ll wait 3 minutes to text back….”

Finding “the one”:

S – “I think I’m ready to find love. I want to have a family someday. I’m not getting any younger!”

SP – “I like you. We have fun together. Let’s keep this light and fun. I’ve been married, I don’t need it. I have a kid. Take it slow, no rush.”

 

Leave a Reply

