The Blonde Boy

I had a first date the other night. This is a guy who I met through Bumble. I wasn’t too sure what to expect. He seemed nice, we didn’t chat tons before the date, so I had fairly low expectations.

He will be known hence forth as the Blonde Boy, or BB for short. Because he is blonde. Apparently I’m going through a blonde phase. I used to think that dating someone who was blonde would look weird, because I was blonde. I felt that we would look too much like siblings, and it always creeps me out when couples look really similar to each other. Now I have red hair. Suddenly blonde guys are an options that I hadn’t really given much thought to before.

I used to have a preference for guys with black hair. Tall, dark, and handsome. Or average, pale and black hair. I never really thought of myself having a type, like some do. Like those guys who only like “exotic” looking girls. Attractive is attractive, right?!

MJ was blonde. Also has the same haircut as BB. Which my friend so graciously pointed out.

hair talk

It is a really popular haircut. And while this guy is not a “bro” or a fuck boy (as far as I know), he may have a similar swooshy, dare I say hipstery, haircut.

I swiped right for him because he looked like a nice person, he seemed to be having fun in his pictures. I read his bio, and it was informative, and to the point. I knew that based on the things he wrote we would have a few things in common. A good place to start.

We plan for a date night near him, at Lopez. A higher end Mexican restaurant with on point margaritas.

The date was good. The conversation was good. He was cuter in person. It wasn’t off the charts hot with sparks, but it was all very nice.

At the end of the night, he walks me to my car, and then says good night. No kiss, just a hug. We both said we had a good time, both agreed that maybe this happens again, and then he texted me to make sure I got home safe and tell me good night. All good.

I have not yet heard anything. I guess I will give him a little more time, and then I will throw out a date idea, to see if he is actually interested.

Because we have all been here before. I have several times. There was the marketing guy, and the Italian guy. Guys that I have not written about because there was not really anything to tell. We went out. It was a fine time. And maybe they just weren’t feeling it. So even if they said they wanted a second date, fact is they never went for it. They just stopped contact. Not exactly ghosting, but just dropping off the radar.

Asking for a second date, because they are trying to be polite, with no follow through. Bah Humbug.

Leave a Reply

